top of page

 Our Story 

APS Chapter Logo Rope-1.1.png
Alpha Charter 1924_edited (2).jpg

Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. was organized on November 12, 1922, in Indianapolis, Indiana, by seven young educators: Mary Lou Allison Gardner Little, Dorothy Hanley Whiteside, Vivian White Marbury, Nannie Mae Gahn Johnson, Hattie Mae Annette Dulin Redford, Bessie Mae Downey Rhoades Martin and Cubena McClure. The group became an incorporated national collegiate sorority on December 30, 1929, when a charter was granted to Alpha chapter at Butler University.

Soaring To Greater Heights Of Attainment Around The World, Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc., as a leading national service organization, has met the challenges of the day and continues to grow through Sisterhood, Scholarship and Service.

From seven young educators, Sigma Gamma Rho has become an international service organization comprised of women from every profession. Sigma Gamma Rho offers its members opportunities to develop their unique talents through leadership training and involvement in sorority activities. Sorority activities provide an atmosphere where friendships and professional contacts are developed which often lead to bonds that last a lifetime.

It is the mission of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. to enhance the quality of life for women and their families in the U.S. and globally through community service, civil and social action. Our goal is to achieve greater progress in the areas of education, health awareness, and leadership development. Our members, affiliates, staff and community partners work to create and support initiatives that align with our vision.

 Chapter History

On March 17, 1945, at the home of Mrs. Mollie A. Brown, Alpha Pi Sigma of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority was organized by Soror Mary Scales Carter, Southwestern Regional Syntaktes, recently. Twelve enthusiastic prominent women of Fort Worth were carried through the impressive initiating ceremony that gave each one the true meaning and spirit of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority. Accompanying Soror Carter were Soror Maudie M. Baker of Alpha Omicron Sigma, Dallas, and Soror Gladys L. Witt of Chi Sigma Chapter, Birmingham, Alabama.

Officers and members of the new chapter are as follows:

Soror Betty Mae Lloyd, Basileus, graduate of Texas College, A.B. degree, Fort Worth City school nurse;

Soror Almeta Robinson, Anti-Basileus, graduate of Benedict College, A.B. degree, founder of Fort Worth Urban League;

Soror Marell Phillips, Grammateus, graduate of Tillotson College, A.B. degree, librarian James E. Guinn Junior High School;

Soror Thelma V. Penigar, Anti-Grammateus, graduate of Wiley College, A.B. degree, clerk G. W. Carver Junior High School;

Soror Versia L. Williams, Tamiochus, graduate of Prairie View College, B.S. degree, principal Riverside School (renamed to Versia L. Williams Elementary School);

Soror Maude I. Logan , Epistoleus, graduate of Wiley College, A.B. degree, principal Dunbar School (renamed to Maude I. Logan Elementary School); 

Soror Lottie M. Hamilton, Parliamentarian, graduate of Texas College, A.B. degree, principal Gay Street School;

Soror Leona Adams, graduate of Prairie View School, B.S. degree, teacher of music G. W. Carver Junior High School;

Soror Mollie A. Brown, Wiley College, A.B., teacher Arlington Heights School;

Soror Bessie C. Davis, graduate of Prairie View College, B.S. degree, teacher Dunbar School;

Soror Johnnie Mae Malloy, Samuel Huston College, A.B., teacher Gay Street School;

Soror Ever M. Greene, Texas College, A.B., teacher James E. Guinn School.


Soror Gladys L. Witt was transferred from Chi Sigma Chapter, Birmingham, Alabama. Soror Witt holds a B.S. degree from Tillotson College, Austin, Texas is a substitute teacher of Fort Worth School System. Following helpful suggestions from Soror Carter, Soror Betty May Lloyd, Basileus and Soror Almeta Robinson, Anti-Basileus, were elected delegates to the Southwestern Conference held in Tulsa, Oklahoma, March 31-April 1. Alternates are Sorors Versia L. Williams and Marell Phillips. 

From inception, members of Alpha Pi Sigma provided outstanding contributions to the city of Fort Worth so much so that their dynamic impact is felt in our community today through Maude I. Logan Elementary, Versia L. Williams Elementary, the Bertha Collins Community Center, Fort Worth Urban League, founded by Soror Almeta Robinson and the Fort Worth Assembly, which was organized by Soror Lottie Hamilton.​

On July 12, 2014, the Alpha Pi Sigma Alumnae Chapter of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. was reactivated, re-establishing a foundation of sisterhood, scholarship, and service once again. Sorors of Alpha Pi Sigma commit to reclaim and to re-introduce the concept of "Greater Service, Greater Progress" to Fort Worth, TX and its surrounding areas. Reactivation members include Sorors Dr. Tara Reed (Basileus), Makesha Wagner, LaShanda Henderson, Darmita White and Keisha White.

With the motto "Achieving Progress Through Sisterhood", members of Alpha Pi Sigma vow to continue the legacy of its original members as dynamic pillars of the community and servant leaders.


 Chapter Leadership 


Tanisha Artis, President
Charisa Burkhead, 1st Vice President
Krystal Orr, Advisor - Tau Rho
Lynda Kirkby, Recording Secretary
Bertina Else, Financial Secretary

Patrice Green, Treasurer
Sophia Ellis, Historian/Reporter

Kaela Brandon, Philo Affiliate Advisor

Marsha Campbell, Rhoer Club Advisor

Trezchic Stewart, Rhosebud Advisor
Jayla Hill, Parliamentarian
Tracey Roberson, Sergeant at Arms

Bertina Else, Chaplain


Lynda Kirkby, Awards and Achievements

Brandy Greene, Community Service Chair
Patrice Green, Fundraising Chair
LaToya Brooks, Hospitality Chair

Gloria Austin, Scholarship Chair,

Social Action Chair

Charisa Burkhead, Technology Chair

National Pan-Hellenic Council of Tarrant County Representatives: 
Tika Sampract, Shawnette Gilliam

Dr. Tara Reed, 2021 Immediate Past President

bottom of page